BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – A New Routine

G’day everyone,
Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!
1. A daily morning routine for me is to wake up around 6:30-7am and go about making myself a cup of tea. But every morning that I spend up at the new house I am rewarded with some very mystical morning views.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

2. I still haven’t planted anything out into the new garden but I am forever discovering plants that I didn’t realise were there. One find that I was over joyed to see was this beautiful Gordonia axillaris, recently renamed Franklinia axillarisis, also known as the Fried Egg plant. The common name comes from the flowers as they mimic that of a cooked egg. This is one of my favourite plants that is currently in the new gardens.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
3. At the old property we had a lot of wildlife ranging from foxes, rabbits, wren birds to the odd kangaroo. But at the new house we have a whole bunch of wild animals living on the property! We have deer, kangaroos, wallabies, rabbits, parrots, king parrots, rosellas and many more! Keeping the wallabies out of the vegie patch has been a challenge but I love watching the birds come and sit in the trees.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
4. Near the back door there was a sweet floral fragrances wafting into the house. I discovered there is a Daphne odora growing happily near the stairs. I had no idea that there was one planted in the garden and I have always wanted to grow one! I am surprised to see how much it is thriving in heavy clay soil and very cold temperatures.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
5. Last but not least is the dew dropped jewels of spider webs after a morning of heavy rain and frost. In a garden it isn’t always the vibrant colours and beautiful flowers that can be the most eye-catching features, it can be the evidence of the critters and creatures that roam our gardens. 
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
Until next time happy gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

Leave a Reply

