Blogs Gardening Photography reviews

A Gift of Seeds: Review

I am always on the look out for fun new garden related items that would make great gifts for friends and family or to add to my own collection. ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

A few weeks ago I celebrated my birthday and I was given one of these seed packs. I have never seen seeds sold in this presentation before. I went down to the local store to see what else they had to offer in the range. I picked up an additional two packs the Billy Buttons (yellow) and the Everlasting Daisy (pink).©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

There are a few things that I really like about these products, my first favourite is the packaging. Hands down the design of these packets are super cute and very creative. Each illustration is very accurate to the seeds of the plant you are buying so you can trust the drawings presented on the packet. The packing unfolds from the back to revel basic sowing instructs on the inside. They tell you what time of year to plant, position and depth to sow the seeds. But it does lack some basic information on the plant you are buying such as heights/widths and the flowering season. However, they do provide a link to their website where you can read up more information on the seed packet you buy. But if I were to give this as a gift to someone who isn’t as computer illiterate it might be hard for them to find that information.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

Let us get to the fun part, the actual seeds. They are presented in a small plastic bag, the Sweet Pea pack I received 28 seeds which is a decent amount. Their seeds are all open pollinated, non-hybrids, non GMO (genetically modified organism) varieties which are all sourced by Australian suppliers! You also get a plant label that has the same illustrations as to what is on the packet. Another thing I really appreciate is that their plant labels are non-toxic so you wont get anything leching out into the garden.©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

Overall I really like this product!  I love the packing and it is honestly half the reason why you would buy something like this especially for the price. Because lets be honest at $9.95 per packet they are more expensive than your normal seed pack. But you can tell that they have put a lot of effort and thought into each packets design, so I don’t mind paying the price for something unique.
Here is the link to ‘Sow N Sow’ official website if you want to check out their products!
www.sownsow.com

Until next time happy gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

 

0 comments on “A Gift of Seeds: Review

Leave a Reply

