G’day everyone,
Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

1. Usually by now all the ornamental deciduous trees would have dropped their foliage in preparation for the cold weather. But they have been stubborn this year. They are only a few months late with their timing but they have just started to present their autumn colours. But I can not really complain because the garden is looking amazing with all the rich reds, orange and yellow tones on the trees!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
2. Its hard to think that we are half way through the year and it is always a reminder for me that spring is only around the corner when these daffodils start to emerge. Over the next few weeks they will slowly start to produce flower buds that will open to show their brightly coloured flowers in early august.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
3. A few weeks ago I went to a rare plant nursery and brought myself Greyia sutherlandii because I had never seen it before. Well let me tell you, that was a lie when I got it back home. I discovered that I already had one that I had bought over 12 months ago and completely forgot I had it…. This has become a common problem where I buy these unusual plants and then plant them out into the garden, then forget that I have them and where I put them.
But it has worked out for the best because these are very hard to grow and are even more difficult to propagate.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
4. I am always amazed by the size of the flowers on this species of Salvia. It has not stopped flowering since late April!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
5. Ever since I first started studying Horticulture I have always admired the pin-cushion tree Hakea laurina. Two years ago I planted my very own tree and I have waited to see if it would flower. It may seem silly to become so overjoyed by something so small but to me it was the highlight of the week. My little Hakea tree finally produced its first lot of beautiful sphere flowers!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016Until next time happy gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

0 comments on “BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – Sphere Blooms!

Leave a Reply

