Blogs Boots off Gardening Photography Plant Culture Plant of the Week

BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – Undivided Attention

G’day everyone,
Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

1. Two weeks ago I shared a few photos of my Zygo cactus that was in heavy bud. After waiting patiently those buds have finally opened to reveal the vibrant flowers. They are quickly becoming one of my all time favourite plants to grow. They look great planted up in hanging baskets or in terracotta pots. They are low maintenance and do not require too much water. If you are new to plants or you are wanting to start your very own collection of cacti plants, these are a great starting point! ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
2. Typically when I walk into a garden center Cupheas are a plant that I wouldn’t take much time to look at. I have never given them much attention, until now. This isn’t because I find them unattractive as a plant or not reliable in the garden but mainly because in the eyes of a horticulturist they are a ‘basic/common’ plant. Most varieties have small flowers ranging in colours of pink, mauve to white and are usually used as a small hedge/border plant. But I found myself giving this particular Cuphea Starfire my undivided attention. The flowers drew me in with their unique structure and vibrant colours.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
3. With the cooler weather comes the dormancy for a lot of the plants in my garden. My ornamental trees are starting to drop their foliage for winter along with the roses. But to my surprise I still have a few roses that are producing lots of flower buds. It is a nice surprise to see some colour still in the garden as we approach winter.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
4. I am falling more and more in love with Salvias each year! They produce flowers for almost 9 months straight and are extremely tough. I am really enjoying this Salvia Go Go Scarlet in my garden. I have actually potted up some cuttings to take to the new house once we move.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
5. The last highlight from my garden is the Abutilon. I have a few different varieties that I have collected over the years but my absolute favourite is Abutilon pictum ‘ Thompsonii ‘ syn. Abutilon striatum, Redvein Indian Mallow. I bet you are thinking that botanical name is a mouthful but the common name is much easier to remember. If you would like to learn more about this particular variety Click Here to read my blog pot I wrote dedicated to the Redvein Indian Mallow.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
Abutilon pictum ‘ Thompsonii ‘ syn. Abutilon striatum, Redvein Indian Mallow

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
Until next time happy gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

0 comments on “BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – Undivided Attention

Leave a Reply

