BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – The Love of Bonsai

G’day everyone,
Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

1. It has been almost a year since my boyfriend and I originally potted up these bonsai plants. Time is flying by so quick!
We spent some time over the weekend re-wiring and fixing the shape of the trees.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
2. A few weeks ago I shared some photos with you all on the cacti house and how it was looking after the big clean up. Whilst cleaning and re-arranging the glasshouse, I spent some time re-potting a bunch of cacti. The Zygo cacti were amongst some of the lucky few that got to go into a bigger pot. As a result they have developed heaps of flower buds and they are about to bloom!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
3. Late last year I bought two rare fuchsias off Yamina Rare Plant nursery. It was the first time I had come across these species and I wanted to have a go at growing them. I have them both growing in morning sun with afternoon shade and they have been flowering non-stop since January. They are surprisingly easy to look after with very little fertilising and pruning needed.
Fuchsia denticulata 
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016Fuchsia luxurians©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook20164. Still standing, slightly crooked is my scarecrow I built for my vegetable patch over a year ago. I am surprised as to how well he has stood up against the elements in the garden. Considering we get strong winds, hail, frost, hot summers I would say he has lasted pretty good. His shirt and pants have faded but he certainly is a key feature in the garden.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016If you have never made a scarecrow before it is super easy. Here is the link to the DIY/How To – Build a Scarecrow I posted last year.

5. Around the garden there are heaps of empty half wine barrels that are needing to be potted up. I have been thinking of doing a few different combinations of flowers, foliage and edibles. I am thinking of making a video of how to pot up combination containers…. Keep an eye out in the coming weeks for that one. ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
Happy Gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

Leave a Reply

