Blogs Photography Travel

Travel Bug: The Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is a sight that you can only fully appreciate once you have seen it with your own eyes. I didn’t know what to expect or what I was hoping to see when I booked in to go snorkeling along the reef. I guess, I thought I would see some coral and a few small fish, and that would be it.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
But that wasn’t just it, it was one of the most breathtaking experiences I have ever had. To be surrounded by the silence and to watch this vast world so different to ours, it was a moment were all you did was take in every inch of what you were watching.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
I was surprised to see so many colourful corals and interesting textures. Unfortunately the camera I hired didn’t do the coral justice.©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
This is one of my favourite photos that I managed to capture. I was heading back to the boat when I saw something out of the corner of my eye. This huge fish, and I mean big, was approximately 1.8 meters long and swam right next to me. I managed to also capture him on film. Which you can hear my muffled excitement… I reckon I ended up swimming around with him for a good 10 minutes before he plunged deep into the depths of the ocean.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
My boyfriend and I decided to book our day trip with Sunlover Reef Cruisers. It was a pleasant and stress free day. Lunch was provided and they had heaps of additional activities, we were more than happy to spend the 3 hours of activity time just snorkelling around the reef.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
If you are ever given the opportunity to go and visit the reef I would highly recommend it. It is a unique and rare experience, and it is one that I would love to go and experience again!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

0 comments on “Travel Bug: The Great Barrier Reef

Leave a Reply

