BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – Flowering Shrimp?

G’day everyone,
Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

It has been a cruel spring and summer with very little rain fall and as a result my garden has suffered a lot. It has been heartbreaking to watch some of the plants die in the garden because we do not have enough water to sustain them. So, when I come across something flourishing and flowering, it gets me excited.

  1. When I saw that my Stenocarpus sinuatus, Firewheel Tree, had an abundance of flowers I felt that excitement. Ever since we removed the lawn from around the trunk, to create a new garden bed, about two years ago, this tree has put on a lot of new healthy growth. This year it has bloomed more than any other year previously!
    ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
  2. After planting out a lot of the plants that were sitting around in pots back in spring, I am now digging them up once again. As I mentioned earlier in the year, I am moving soon and being the plant lover that I am, I am finding it hard to leave certain things behind. The last few weeks we have been working hard to gather as many cuttings from the garden that we can, then potting up the rare plants. One of the lucky plants that has been selected to come along and join the ‘new garden’ is this Pseudopanax crassifolius, Lancewood tree. I picked this up at The Diggers Club a year ago, unfortunately it seems like they are no longer selling it. Hence my reasoning to bring it with me to the new place.
    ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

3. In flower in the glasshouse is the shrimp plant! Yes, the common name is actually Shrimp plant, I promise I am not lying. When not in flower, Justicia brandegeeana, isn’t a very exciting plant, but you can really learn to appreciate it when the flower buds begin to open. As the bracts are exposed to more sunlight, they change from green to the deep red, orange to salmon and then the white flower is displayed at the very tip.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

4. New to the cacti house is this Graptopetalum bellum. I purchased this because I really love the light pink margin to the silver-grey leaves, and I have a slight succulent and cacti addiction…
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

5. I was surprised to find my Plumeria obtusa in full flower.I have had a bit of trouble with two spotted mites this year and have found that the frangipani trees have suffered a little. But this was a nice treat for the week.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016
By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2016

Leave a Reply

