BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Spring Cleaning

G’day everyone,

Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

  1. On Friday I spent some quality time out in the vegetable garden. Unfortunately over winter the garden beds were neglected and all the herbs and vegetables have grown out of control. After a good few hours of work 3 of the 10 beds have been planted out with fresh plants. There is still a lot of work to do but it will be well worth it later in the season!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2. It is amazing what a little bit of warm weather can do! This wisteria standard was in bud on Monday and over the weekend the buds busted open!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. It is always a joy when you get to stumble across something new in the garden centers. This is the flower of Osteospermum ecklonis, Osteospermum 3D Purple Envy. This form will grow to a height of 60cm and will spread to almost half a meter. It grows best in full day sun and will be drought and frost tolerant once established. (Which is always appreciated in my garden).

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4. When I started out as an apprentice many years ago I fell in love with this sprawling plant. Lotus berthelotii is native to the Canary Islands which is located just off the southern cost of Morocco. They are classified as either extinct in the wild or there are very few growing, but what I find fascinating is that they are largely cultivated in the Horticulture industry. Once the orange blooms open they are really a show stopper.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5. Each week I look at my cacti house and say to myself ‘today will be the day I clean you up’. But it is still sitting just how I left it on Friday.. I will be taking everything out and fixing the broken glass, cleaning the hydroponic mat and removing any old empty pots. Just like the vegetable garden, it will take me a few hours to get it looking beautiful. I will keep you all posted on how I go!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

Happy gardening!

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

Leave a Reply

