Boots Off Sunday – On Time!

G’day everyone,

It is officially spring in my part of the world and the garden has been loving the warmer days we have been experiencing. But it is still too cold for me to be outside in a t-shirt ( I am looking forward to our 27-30 degree days).

Here are the top 5 highlights from my garden this past week!

  1. These Veltheima bracteata bulbs are quite important to me because they once belonged to my grandmother that I never had the opportunity to meet. I find it exciting to be able to grow the very same plants she once did. They are currently flourishing under the Acer negundo var. violaceum and pear trees. Over the course of a year the bulbs have duplicated and there are now about a dozen of them growing.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2. All of the fruiting cherries, pears, apples, quince and apricots trees transform the garden at this time of year. All the flower buds that have been sitting dormant have burst open to reveal the colours of pink and white blossoms! Over the duration of the next few weeks we will see the gradual development of the new season fruits starting to appear. I can not wait to eat some home grown apricots this year!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. Rhododendrons are a great option for shaded gardens that are not exposed to the afternoon sun. They are available in a vast range of colours and heights. Every year their vibrant honeycomb shaped blooms brighten the darkest corners of the garden. They have also helped protect the forest floor ground-covers in the heat of the summer season.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4. I was inspired by a photo I saw on Pinterest of a marbled pot, naturally I wanted to have a go at making my own version. So, many nail polish bottles later and one geranium to complete the look this was the end result. I am pretty happy with how it turned out.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5. When the buds on the Oak tree finally start to swell, it is a sign to say we have gotten through winter. Over the next 10 days I will enjoy watching as the new spring foliage will emerge and the warmer days to come. ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

Leave a Reply

