BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Missing In Action

G’day everyone,

It has been a long time since I have had the chance to sit down and write a short blog post. I have been quite busy with work outside of my full-time job. I have another article coming out in spring which I hope all of you and the rest of the magazine’s readers will enjoy. I also have some exciting news coming up very soon. Unfortunately my blog posts haven’t been as frequent as they once were. But I am working towards new ideas for this blog website by doing more DIY’s and introducing new stories to tell, alongside the current ‘episodes’ that I post. I am also working towards posting regularly like I was earlier in the year. I thank you all for the support and to all of you who keep coming back to read my posts! I really do appreciated you all.

Now that I have updated you all, here are the top 5 highlights from the past week in my garden.

1. I have been feeling a little inspired to start creating colourful hanging baskets and wall container gardens. I have never really made much of an effort to give them a go in my garden and it is mainly due to my focus being directed to the plants that are already in the ground. But this is my first attempt at foliage display…. I think it turned out alright.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2. A few weeks ago my Echium candicans were pruned to encourage compact and healthy new growth for spring. It is only in the last few days that I have noticed the first signs of new growth emerging. It is exciting to see these plants performing so well in the frosty days of winter and it is another reminder that spring is right around the corner! Looking forward to a few months time when the bright blue spikes of flowers will be in bloom.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. My citrus trees are still flourishing since I last updated you. But I couldn’t help but share this photo of the lime that is currently developing on my Tahitian tree!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4. These bright bold coloured flowers belong to a plant by the name of Senetti. If there was one word to describe these plants it would be floriferous, which means they produce many flowers. I have 6 of these plants in my garden and they have continued to flower for the last few months! The flowers emerge in late autumn and continue to bloom until late winter. They are frost hardy which came as a surprise due to their delicate foliage, but it is also what sealed the deal for me. I get heavy frosts where I live so it was an exciting find for my garden.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5. The first flower on my Anisodontea has finally opened! This is one of those classic plants that are great in almost every garden situation. I have a few of these currently growing around the garden. They are tough and are fine with the hot summer sun which is a big thumbs up in my book.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4 thoughts on “BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Missing In Action

Leave a Reply

