BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Home Grown Mushrooms

G’day everyone,

Here are the top 5 highlights from the past week in my garden.

1.  This year I decided to have a go at growing my own mushrooms from a kit, and so far I have been having great success. I will have a full review and a ‘how to’ blog post coming up soon.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2. My Salvia plants have been in full bloom since March and are showing no signs of slowing down. Salvia’s are fantastic plants at this time of year, they add bright splashes of colour to the garden when there arn’t many other plants in bloom. Usually mid – late July I will prune them to encourage new growth and flowers for the spring.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. This impressive flower belongs to the 3D Osteospermum ‘Silver’ and it has become the latest addition to my collection. What caught my eye was the unique colouring of this particular species and its compact habit. They grow to a total height of 40cm and have a spread of 40 – 60cm.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4. Almost every citrus tree in my grove is covered in fruit! It has taken a few years to get the trees to establish their root systems and overall shape. In the first 12 – 18 months of the trees being planted, any forming fruit was picked off and the trees were then pruned to encourage a strong branching network. It is only in the last year that I have allowed them to form their fruit.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5. Winter can be a hard time of year to find bright colours in the garden. But this is one plant that has been standing out in my garden. I have this Heuchera ‘Georgia Peach’ planted in full shade under my large ornamental trees. They dislike the hot afternoon sun so make sure to plant them in a sheltered or shaded area of the garden.

  ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2 thoughts on “BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Home Grown Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

