Blogs NATURE’S PIC OF THE WEEK! Photography Plant of the Week

NATURE’S PIC OF THE WEEK! – Giant Rewards

G’day everyone,

Here is ‘Nature’s Pic of the Week!’

Back in august last year I purchased the seeds of Cucurbita maxima, which is also known as the world’s largest pumpkin. I ended up sowing the seeds quite late in the spring season but once they had germinated I potted them up into 14cm pots for a few weeks. Once the roots had appeared at the base of the pots, they were then ready to be planted out into the patch. After a few months this is my end result. Unfortunately I did not fertilise them as much as I would have liked to. However, I have collected the seeds with the intention to grow them again in the spring. It was my first time growing this species of pumpkin and it was exciting to watch their progress, each week they would double in size! I am looking forward to growing them again this year and I will be aiming to give them a bit more attention in the hope to grow even bigger pumpkins.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

 By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

1 comment on “NATURE’S PIC OF THE WEEK! – Giant Rewards

  1. Pingback: BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – New Designs and Last Harvest – The Gardener's Notebook

Leave a Reply

