BOOTS OFF SUNDAY – Signs of Life

G’day everyone,

As the weather is starting to cool down and frosty mornings are making an appearance again, a lot of the summer blooming flowers are starting to finish. Autumn is the time of year I tend to enjoy getting a lot of the hard, back-breaking work done in the garden. With the cooler weather it makes it more pleasant to garden for longer. I have slowly been getting back into the garden and getting a few things done. I still have a few weeds to pull and plants that I want to start propagating in the next few weeks.

But here are the top 5 highlights from the past week in my garden.

1. This Camellia was cut back down to the stump last year, mainly due to disease and die back issues. I was taking photos in the immediate area and was excited to discover that it has started to re-shoot! It always amazes me when plants can bounce back from a dramatic prune or recover from diseases and infections.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015
2. These delicate clusters of coral-orange flowers belong to a plant called Senecio stapeliiformis, ‘The Candy Plant’. I bought this S. stapeliiformis approximately 12 months ago, not knowing what the flowers would look like. I purchased it because I fell in love with the two-toned stems and had to add it to my collection. I was surprised when I discovered the flowers for the first time earlier this week.

 

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. As the weather gets colder the roses will slowly finish blooming, and eventually drop their foliage for the winter season. But with a few warmer weeks left I hope to keep my roses flowering until May. I will be fertilising them again this weekend to help encourage more flowers and healthy growth. Usually, I start giving my rose bushes their winter prune around the third week of June.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

4. Over the past week as I have been working in my garden, I have noticed a lot of the flowers that are currently in bloom are either orange or pink… The next orange beauty I have to share with you all is the flower from my Haemanthus coccineus! This beautiful plant is native to South Africa and flowers during February and April.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5. Vallota speciosa syn. Cyrtanthus elatus, Scarborough Lily, is a bulb that I received from a good friend from out of her garden. I have never grown this type of bulb before and was a little unsure of how to care for it. Whenever I come across a plant I am unfamiliar with I like to do as much research on it as I can. Luckily I haven’t killed it! But as you can see, it is thriving and has been continuously blooming for about 10 days.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

Leave a Reply

