NATURE’S PIC OF THE WEEK! – Giant Fury and Smelly Blooms?

G’day everyone,

Here is ‘Nature’s Pic of the Week’!

Stapelia plants, also known as Starfish flowers, are popular for their unusual displays and unique smell. I have a few different species currently in my collection, but there has been one that I have been hunting down for a long time. I am happy to say I finally got my hands on it! This is Stapelia gigantea!

When I purchased this late last week the flower bud was a few days away from revealing what was hidden inside. On Sunday the flower bud had burst open showing off this 32cm diameter flower!

The flower was beautiful and captivating, but the smell… The smell of rotting flesh/meat overpowered my glasshouse for the next few days.

(I do not mind the smell considering I have so many in flower at the moment)

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

5 thoughts on “NATURE’S PIC OF THE WEEK! – Giant Fury and Smelly Blooms?

Leave a Reply

