BOOTS OFF MONDAY – Summer Colour

G’day everyone,

Here are the top 5 highlights from the past week in my garden.

1. Back in early spring I grew a few different varieties of sunflowers. Over the last month the flowers have started to finish up. Usually once the flowers have finished I will collect the dead flower heads and remove the seeds. By doing this I can grow three times as many sunflowers later in the year.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

2. This is the first flower off my Gloriosa superba plants! It is my first time growing them and I wasn’t too sure if they were going to flower this season for me. There are about 5-7 flower buds on each plant. Fingers crossed that over the next few days those flower buds will open up.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

3. I planted this Brugmansia alba from a 7cm tube almost 2 years ago. It is currently 2.5 meters high and 1.8 metres wide. It astonishes me how many flowers are continuously blooming on this plant! It has been flowering non-stop since September last year.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015
4. Still flowering in my garden are all my Lilium bulbs. Usually around this time of year in my garden all my Liliums have finished flowering and are starting to slowly die back into the soil. It seems I might have a few more flowers that I can enjoy for a few more weeks.    lillium bulbs©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook20155. Coming later this month will be an updated post on my cacti and succulent collection. I am going to attempt to make a short video for this, so fingers crossed it all works out as planned.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2015

Leave a Reply

