BOOTS OFF SUNDAY! – Merry Christmas

G’day everyone,

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! I apologise that there was no ‘Nature’s Pic of the Week’ on Tuesday. As you can imagine, the festive season can make us all very busy. Nevertheless, here are the top 5 highlights from the past week in my garden.

1. It isn’t garden related, but Christmas was a definite highlight from the past week. Tomorrow I will have a separate blog post showcasing a few photos from Christmas day for you all to enjoy. But for now I would like to wish you all happy holidays with this picture of Bobby!
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

2. Two of my chickens have been getting up to some serious mischief over the last few weeks. Two of my chooks have learnt to jump their enclosure’s fence… As a result they are roaming 10 acres to their own leisure. I find myself having to catch them and put them back into their playpen. Unfortunately I can’t allow the chickens to roam as freely since we have foxes and wild dogs around the property and in our area. ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

3. My Lagerstroemia indica ‘Nana’, Dwarf Crepe Myrtle, trees are starting to bud! The flower buds developed a bit later compared to last year, which is mainly due to the delayed warm weather in spring. Now that the weather is starting to warm up and become more consistent in temperature, the buds should open up to reveal the flowers within the next week. If you are interested in reading up on on their growth habits and cultural notes, I have written a blog on these trees.

Click Here

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

4. My Kniphofia caulescens, Red Hot Pokers, have started to push out a few flower buds over the past few days. I love these plants mainly because they require very little attention, but they are a fantastic show piece with their vibrant flowers!1D8A5829

5. Shasta daisies, Leucanthemum x superbum, are a beautiful plant that are very easy to grow. They are a great option to encourage bees into the vegetable garden to help encourage pollination. I brought a few tubes back in August, and after a few months in the ground they are flourishing. I have not pruned these plants and as you can see in the photo they have grown into a nice compact plant.©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Leave a Reply

