Welcome to ‘Hanging in the Patch’

G’day everyone,

As of today I am starting a new blog series, as suggested in my previous blog post.

‘Hanging in the Patch’ will either be a weekly or fortnightly post (I am not quite sure yet), where I share with you what vegetables I am growing, seeds that I am germinating, and plant propagation.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014New this season is the ‘Cherry Fountains’ tomato. I have planted mine in a half wine barrel because of the expected size this tomato is meant to grow to. This tomato will grow to a maximum height of 30 cm and will have a spread/cascading habit of 1 meter long. The fruit are small, the size of a 10 – 20 cent coin and are suppose to be juicy and sweet in flavour. I look forward to trying the fruit for the first time! Hopefully, fingers crossed, I might get a few fruit for Christmas.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

This year I did not expect to see so many flowers on my passionfruit vine! There are about 50 flowers currently, and more forming, so hopefully I will be getting lots of fruit off it this year! Today I fertilized it with some Power feed to help encourage strong growth and to help keep it healthy whilst it is forming new fruit.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

A few months ago I was given some Oka and it was potted up back in September. It has been growing well. I made sure to get a decent sized pot with a good depth. Once getting the pot, I made up a mixture of potting soil to use. I used a mixture of soil, compost and blood and bone. In the next few days I will add another layer of soil and compost to encourage the roots to form more trusses of oka.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

A gardener’s best friend is a good pair of secateurs! I use the Felco number 2, they are brilliant and I have been using the same pair for the last 5 years now, and they have not let me down once! 
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Here is a list of what I am growing in my vegetable patch for this season!

  • Tomato ‘Cherry Fountain’
  • Tomato ‘Tomatoberry’
  • Tomato ‘Black Russian’
  • Tomato ‘Heritage – Black and White’
  • Tomato ‘Sweetbite’
  • Tomato ‘Tommy Toe’
  • Tomato ‘Health Kick – Low in anti-oxidants’
  • Capsicum ‘Sweet Stuff’
  • Capsicum ‘Sweet Stuff Gold’
  • Capsicum ‘Bell Orange’
  • Chili ‘Birdseye’
  • Chili ‘Jalapeno Mexicana’
  • Eggplant ‘Grafted Bonica’
  • Eggplant ‘Lebanese’
  • Beetroot
  • Leek
  • Spring onion ‘Red Stem and White Stem’
  • Zucchini ‘Tromboncino’
  • Zucchini ‘Easy Pick Gold’
  • Zucchini ‘Black Jack’
  • Cucumber ‘Lebanese’
  • Corn ‘Sweet’
  • Carrot ‘Little Fingers’
  • Lettuce ‘Iceberg’
  • Lettuce ‘Little Gem’
  • Lettuce ‘Combo’
  • Beans ‘Bonaparte’
  • Silverbeet ‘Tri-colour’
  • Celery
  • Pumpkin ‘Queensland Blue’
  • Pumpkin ‘Worlds Largest’
  • Watermelon ‘Red Rocket’

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Leave a Reply

