BOOTS OFF MONDAY! – Garden Discoveries

G’day everyone,

Here are my top 5 highlights from the past week in the garden!

1. Recently I have been trying to grow a lot of plants with cuttings and seeds. It is a lot of fun experimenting with different plants and watching them grow from a single stem. Pictured below is a photo of a Salvia cutting I made on Friday from my garden. Hopefully in the next few weeks there will be some roots starting to grow. ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

2. I was gifted these unusual planter pots from my mum, which she came across in an antique shop. They are made from clay and have a green glaze on the inside, and are supposed to be tree trunks. They are an unusual example of Australian Pottery. I have been wondering what I should pot up into these pots, and I’m thinking I might pot them up with some succulents and cacti plants.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

3. My ‘Eyes for You’ rose is finally flowering! It has a wonderful fragrance and the colour is very unique; the centre of the flower is a deep purple and the outer petals are a hot pink with white blotches. I have this planted in all day sun and it is fed 3-6 times throughout spring, summer and autumn. This is the second time it has flowered since being planted early last year, and there are currently about 15 buds still waiting to open.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

4. After 12 months I have finally planted my Christmas tree! It was sitting in a 40cm pot and was in desperate need of potting up into a bigger pot or to be planted out in the garden.

Because my soil is heavy clay I mixed a bag of compost into the soil before planting to help rejuvenate and improve the soil texture. Once the tree was planted I gave it a good watering in with a few litres of water and seasol.©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

 5. Each weekend I spend a good few hours taking photos, and I always seem to stumble across something new in the garden. This week I discovered this nest that was hidden amongst my Leptospermumtrees.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Leave a Reply

