BOOTS OFF SUNDAY! – Colours of Spring

 G’day everyone,

Here are my top 5 highlights from past week in the garden!

1. I have been waiting for weeks for my Rhododendrons flower buds to open! When I was out in the garden on Friday I saw this little guy in full bloom! I stopped what I was doing and went to find my camera to take a few snaps! None of my photos are edited, the colour you see is the true colouring of the Rhododendron flower.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014
‘Kenloch Purple’

2. My tree Begonia has gotten to the stage that it was in need of a haircut. As a result I decided it was a good opportunity to make a few cuttings! I managed to make 18 cuttings. I have potted them up into seed and propagation mix. I currently have the cuttings growing inside my glasshouse. Having these growing in a glasshouse, roots should start to form within 10-18 days.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

3. I have wild Nasturtiums that are flourishing around my property, and in the last few days all the flower buds have sprung open. The beautiful orange and golden flowers are a real standout in the garden and contrast brilliantly against their sage-green foliage! The great thing about these plants is that the flowers are edible! So I  will be picking a few flowers to add to my salads.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

4. My roses are flowering a little early this year, but in no means am I complaining! Unfortunately I am not too sure what variety this rose is but it has a wonderful perfume!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

5. I love being able to go out into my vegetable patch and collect a whole bunch of homegrown produce. Lately I have been able to enjoy my homegrown potatoes. But I will need to dig most of these back into the soil so I can enjoy a harvest early next year. (Hopefully the rabbits will stop digging them up!)

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Leave a Reply

