BOOTS OFF SUNDAY – Signs of Spring!

G’day everyone,

Here are my top 5 highlights of the week!

1. I managed to pick the first harvest of my carrots and radishes. The carrots have been growing for a few months, but the radishes have only been growing for a few weeks (3 and half weeks) and are all ready for harvesting.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

2. I recently went to one of my favourite nurseries to pick up a few new seeds. I managed to find the seeds of Cucurbita maximaotherwise known as the ‘worlds largest growing pumpkin’.  You commonly see these giant pumpkins in garden competitions and I have always wanted to try growing one! I have sowed the seed and now I just have to wait 17 weeks to hopefully see some results!©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

3. I finally managed to clean up my strawberry patch! It was so overgrown so I divided up a  lot of the runners. The soil was also in need of some fixing, so I added some compost to help rejuvenate the soil. Here are the before and after photos of the strawberry patch.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014
Before
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014
After

4. My Beschorneria, Beschorneria yuccoides ‘Reality’, is flowering for the first time. I have never seen the flower of the Beschorneria so I am excited to see the flowers emerge!  ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

5. The start of spring officially starts tomorrow. It is my favourite time of year because of all the flowers that start to bloom, and I enjoy watching the amount of growth plants put on in just a matter of a few weeks. Here are the first flower blossoms of the season on my fruiting plum.
©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Leave a Reply

