G’day everyone,

‘Hanging in the Patch’ will be weekly posts that will go up on Fridays. In these blog posts I want to share with you what I have been planting and harvesting in my garden.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

My veggie patch has started to look tired and it is time to pull out the winter veggies to make way for next season’s crops. There are a few weeds that are starting to take over in some areas that need to be attended to. Today I managed to plant out my beetroot and radish seedlings that I had brought recently. Hopefully the slugs will stay away from these little guys! Lately the slugs have been having a blast in the veggie patch eating all my lettuce, but the slugs are not the only problem I have been having lately. The wild rabbits have been getting in the veggie patch and have started to eat a few of the plants that I have been growing. They have also decided to make some lovely holes everywhere. Unfortunately I had to pull out some of my snow peas that I planted not too long ago. The rabbits had eaten most of the new growth, but the snow peas were also having a few fungal problems mainly due to the inconsistent weather we have been experiencing.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Since I had ripped out a good proportion of what was growing in the garden beds, I decided to add a few bags of my favourite humus, called ‘Black Gold compost’, which will help rejuvenate the soil and get it ready for the next season. I used bagged compost so it is ok to plant right away. Personally I like to let the soil sit for a few hours before I plant my seedlings, however, if the compost is fresh I let the soil sit for a few days before replanting.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

After weeks of saying ‘I will prune my grapes today’ and never actually doing it, I finally managed to give my grape vines a healthy prune a few days ago. It was their first winter prune ever, so I am looking forward to the new spring growth in a few weeks time.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

A few years back I managed to grow a few Japanese maple trees from seeds. They have been growing in pots for the last three years and I have finally managed to plant them. I am glad that they are finally in the ground and out of their pots!

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

0 comments on “Hanging in the Patch!

Leave a Reply

