G’day everyone,

This year’s harvest of tomatoes has been crazy. Each week I am almost getting 10kg worth of ripe fruit. It is very rewarding and satisfying to be able to walk out into my vegetable garden and pick the fruit and veggies that I have helped nurture and grow.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

Due to the vast amount of tomatoes that I have been harvesting this season I have been making tomato chutney and sauce. If you are interested I will have the recipe up later this week.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

This year is the first time my Nashi tree has produced fruit and there are currently about a dozen fruit on the tree. I planted this tree about 2 years ago. Each winter I make sure to prune, as this will help to encourage and stimulate fruit in the spring. I have written a blog post on how to prune your deciduous fruit trees, with before and after photos.

Here is the linkhttps://gardenersnotebook.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/pruning-fruit-trees/

I am looking forward to future harvests. If you haven’t tried a Nashi before I highly recommend you give it a go. In my opinion they have the crunch and sweetness of an apple, but have the mixed taste of pear and apple combined.

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

What are you growing and harvesting in your vegetable garden?

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2014

0 comments on “Tomatoes Everywhere!!

Leave a Reply

