Berries

Recently I have been able to harvest my own home grown raspberries and blackberries.

IMG_2545

Freshly grown Raspberries

I was very excited to harvest my own home grown raspberries for the first time this year. The raspberry plants were planted back in September of 2012 and since then they have come on wonderfully. Due to the extreme heat from the past few weeks the raspberry canes have lost about 30% of their foliage, leaving the canes looking bare. I plan on giving them a nice prune in June which will help to encourage more compact and healthy growth in the spring. 

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller

Unfortunately this year because of the extreme heat I haven’t had as much success with my blackberries as previous years. Previously I have been able to harvest kilograms of blackberries, but this year I was lucky to get just one kilogram. Due to the heat the forming fruit dehydrated to the point of falling off the bush. 

 ©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller

I have made some home made jam and sauces out of the produce I harvested this year. Later this week I’ll post a blog with the recipe.

Here is a sneak peek:

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller

By Bonnie-Marie Hibbs

©BMHPhotographyTheGardener’sNotebook2013 Nature’s Storyteller

Leave a Reply

